National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution



Our Founding Members

5  May 1956


Adam Thoroughgood Chapter


Virginia Beach, Virginia

On May 5, 1956, at the inaugural meeting of the Adam Thoroughgood Chapter, Virginia Society, DAR, thirteen charter members witnessed the installation of the following officers: Regent Mrs. Norman K Browne, Vice Regent Mrs. J. Hubbard  Davis, Secretary Mrs. Robert L. Long, Treasurer Mrs. William P. Carver, Registrar Miss Shirley Virginia Parrish, Historian Mrs. Henry H. Gooch III, Librarian Mrs. Marcel Y. Carpenter, and Chaplain Mrs. James Bolton Jr.

            Ledger-Dispatch and Star, Mon., May 7, 1956

Founding Members

Text Box:

The Adam Thoroughgood Chapter was officially recognized on June 7, 1956.

The content contained herein does not necessarily represent the position of the NSDAR. Hyperlinks to other sites are not the responsibility of the NSDAR, the state organizations, or individual DAR chapters.



The DAR Insignia is the property of, and is copyrighted by, the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution.

Charlotte Pilley Bolton          

Jeanette McElod Browne

Maxine Baxter Carpenter

Emmajane Gibson Carver

Lois Gail St. Clair Davis

Grace Lightfoot Everett

Virginia Bledsoe Goffigan

Frances Whitehead Gooch

Florian Frances Harrington

Virginia Cox Horner

Sara Helms Long

Shirley Virginia Parrish

Bessie O’Grady St. Clair